Letter Sign

Inspired by Shanty2Chic’s blogpost about a letter project http://www.shanty-2-chic.com/2011/11/letter-photo-art-for-christmas.html,  I created a slightly different spin on the project.  My goal was to up-cycle an old sign for my daughter’s dance room.   In the Shanty-2-Chic post they cited a great Flickr site as a source for the project’s key ingredients.  Warning: once you click on the site you will get hooked exploring the hundreds of letter versions and then you will start thinking of all the words, names, etc. that you want to link with adorable letters.

<http://www.flickr.com/photos/lwr/collections/72157594587080023/>

For my project, the first step was applying a flat black coat of spray paint over the entire sign, including the pink beads on the hanging wire.   After selecting each letter I sized them to fit the sign’s opening space and trimmed each letter.  I attached each letter to the sign using Matte Mod Podge.  I like the new look and most importantly, my daughter approved!

The starting point...

Same sign, new look!

dance

One thought on “Letter Sign

  1. Ann Daly January 12, 2012 at 5:15 pm Reply

    Your art is just brilliant, Debbie, and I LOVE your blog! This is the perfect showcase for all your remarkable talent and creativity. You make everything seem so simple and beautiful. I am in awe!

Leave a comment