Photo Friday: DIY Canvas

Missy canvas!

One of my Pinterest boards I labeled Need to Make*.   I popped on my board for Photo Friday inspiration and elected to attempt to print a photo on tissue paper and attach it to a canvas for the look and feel of a “real” photo on canvas.  My style and approach doesn’t include measuring and precisely planning so I had to print a draft or two adjusting the photo size to my 5 x 7 canvas.   I trimmed  a piece of white tissue paper to a size under the 8.5 x 11 sheet of paper attaching the tissue paper to regular copy paper with ordinary Scotch tape on the edges (the non-print area edges).  I used the horizontal page set up and printed with my usual printer settings (normal).  I removed the tissue paper and trimmed the image to the base size of my 5 x 7 canvas (no overlapping edges on this particular attempt).  I used Mod Podge to attach the tissue paper and learned the hard way that the printed tissue paper is still delicate (aka it tears easily).

I love how the canvas texture protrudes beneath the tissue paper.  It looks like a “real” canvas.  I am sure an Mpix photo canvas would be a bit more lovely, but at this moment, I love this quick and easy way to make my own photos on canvas (at least the small versions!).

My Pin linked to this site!   http://living-up-to-me.blogspot.com/2011/04/put-your-photos-on-canvas.html  They used spray adhesive to attach the tissue to the canvas.

The purple paper visible under my two canvas photos is a sneak peak at my chair project, still underway.  Big reveal on Monday, Jan. 23!

* All my Pinterest boards are labeled Need to _____  based on my love of the band NeedtoBreathe!

5 thoughts on “Photo Friday: DIY Canvas

  1. theatreterp January 22, 2012 at 4:05 am Reply

    Bopping over from BBTL Facebook page. :) Nice to meet you!

    Love Pinterest and I love your photo work.

    I see that you are a Patti Digh fan – I love her books, too. I haven’t completed Creative is a Verb yet, but I LOVE it.

    I look forward to coming back to see your blog bloom.

  2. Courtney January 23, 2012 at 1:34 pm Reply

    ooooohhh, love it! Jim told me about these and I attempted to do it, but couldn’t get the paper to print. Now I see your trick about taping it to regular copy paper. Thanks for posting the tutorial!

  3. […] To my delight, I discovered that my friend, Debbie, has started her own blog: Ordinary Creative. Her blog is long overdue as she has been dreaming up great projects for years and I have been lucky enough to see many of them. Her goal is to find time to do something creative each day of 2012… I think I might just need to have that goal as well. I highly recommend clicking over to Debbie’s blog to check out some of her great ideas. I really want to try her DIY gallery wrap canvas. […]

  4. Www.Google.Com March 8, 2014 at 1:13 pm Reply

    Pretty portion of content. I just stumbled upon your blog and in accession capital to assert that I acquire in fact enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I’ll be subscribing for your feeds and even I success you get admission to constantly fast.

  5. old house renovation pictures September 27, 2014 at 12:57 am Reply

    It’s an remarkable piece of writing in support of all the online
    people; they will take advantage from it I am sure.

Leave a Reply

