Vinyl Album to Clock

I still love vinyl albums.  I have about a dozen album favorites hanging in a contiguous pattern in a corner of my house (my version of wallpaper I guess).

Last year I found Bruce Springsteen’s Born in the U.S.A. album in a closet at my mom’s house.  Which lead to a childlike fight with my brother (mine, no its mine, etc. – pathetic, I know).  I ended up taking Bruce home but I felt guilty and framed it and returned it to him wrapped as a Christmas gift.  Then I stumbled on a great vinyl collection in northern Wisconsin at an antique store where the albums were priced 3 for $1!  It must have been album karma because I found a pristine Born in the U.S.A. album among a few other cool finds (Madonna!).

Love this quote sticker on my "new" album

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am still working on getting the new Bruce up on my wallpaper-like grid.  In the meantime I tackled a project that has been on my creative wish list forever – reclaiming the album as a fully functioning clock!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And, the best part is I am gifting this clock to someone I admire over at The Domestic Wormhole.  She makes me laugh with every single post and she is a “true” artist!  Check out her blog:  http://domesticwormhole.wordpress.com/2012/01/21/happy-coffee-filter-snowball/

I also managed to get this beloved album in a frame and up on the wall!  Happy, very happy!

3 thoughts on “Vinyl Album to Clock

  1. […] I was the lucky recipient of one of her projects, a clock made from Bruce’s Born in the USA album. It quickly found a home in my sewing area, […]

  2. Courtney January 25, 2012 at 6:09 pm Reply

    I love my new clock! Thank you so much :) It has already found a home in my sewing room. Hooray!

    • ordinarycreative January 25, 2012 at 6:24 pm Reply

      So happy! Love its position next to the brilliant album case! Serendipity! Thanks so much for your kind words as I tip toe into this fun world!

Leave a Reply

